The Grand Canyon State has legalized leisure hashish by way of Proposition 207— also called the Smart and Safe Act—which handed with 60% of the vote.
The victory is all of the sweeter in gentle of Arizona’s failed attempt to legalize an identical invoice in 2016.
Right here’s what occurs subsequent.
Is leisure hashish authorized proper now?
No, not fairly but.
The precise date that possessing hashish is authorized in Arizona stays unclear. Whereas residents will indisputably be within the clear as soon as the licensed retail program is lively, getting busted earlier than then just isn’t totally out of the query.
Our recommendation: if you wish to play it secure, get your self a medical card and sleep simple.
When can I purchase it legally?
Most likely subsequent April.
Prop 207 requires state officers to determine program laws by April 5, 2021, at which level adult-use retail licenses should be handed out. They may, nevertheless, be handed out sooner.
Present medical dispensaries, in addition to a handful of aspiring hashish entrepreneurs (extra on that under), may have by way of the top of March, 2021, to use for a leisure license.
“Our grownup use shops [will be] up and operating by 4/20,” Richard informed Leafly.
Election Day stress? Chill with these 5 dank strains
Will there be a marijuana tax?
Grownup-use hashish merchandise will probably be topic to a 16% excise tax along with Arizona’s regular 5.6% gross sales tax.
So the full tax will probably be 21.6%.
Hashish excise tax income will help public security, public well being packages, group schools, and infrastructure tasks.
Can my city ban weed shops?
Though cities and counties can choose out of new adult-use dispensaries, they can not stop present medical dispensaries from buying an adult-use license. So, so long as you reside someplace with a medical marijuana dispensary now, you’ll possible have an adult-use retailer, too.
Will there be lots of new rec retailers?
It relies on what you imply by “new.”
Most adult-use retail licenses will go to Arizona’s 130 presently working medical dispensaries. These dispensaries received’t routinely have the ability to provide leisure merchandise. They’ll be required to use for adult-use licenses.
The state may even situation 26 new social fairness adult-use retail marijuana licenses, and an extra handful of recent licenses in rural counties which can be presently residence to lower than two medical dispensaries.
What’s the authorized possession restrict?
As soon as it’s authorized, adults 21 or older will have the ability to possess one ounce of marijuana (with not more than 5 grams of it being marijuana focus).
Possessing between one and a pair of.5 ounces will probably be handled as a petty offense, and minors caught with lower than one ounce might obtain a $100 most effective and 4 hours of drug counseling.
Can I develop marijuana at residence?
Sure. Every grownup will probably be allowed to own and domesticate as much as six vegetation at residence.
Will there be an expungement course of?
Sure. It begins subsequent summer season.
Starting July 12, 2021, individuals beforehand convicted of possessing lower than an oz. of marijuana, a most of six vegetation, or hashish paraphernalia, can petition to have their report expunged.
Prop. 207 has allotted funds—generated by way of licensing charges and medical card charges—to help group organizations that can in flip support an estimated 200,000 Arizonans with the expungement course of itself.
Can I get fired for utilizing authorized weed?
Employers nonetheless have the precise to take care of a drug- and alcohol-free office.
Though no employer checks workers members for ingesting wine the night time earlier than displaying up for work, many proceed to check for off-the-job hashish use—and should, by regulation, hearth an worker for personal, private use.